1-800-649-8481 Toll Free

For more information about Medicaid Waivers, visit the DBHDS website.

Waiver Types:

Building Independence Waiver (formerly Day Support Waiver): For adults 18+ able to live independently in the community but still may require supports in other areas.
Family and Individual Supports Waiver (formerly DD Waiver): For adults and children living with family or friends in their own homes, for those with both medical and behavioral needs.
Community Living Waiver (formerly ID Waiver): For adults and children. Includes residential supports and a full array of medical and behavioral supports for individuals who may require 24/7 care.

Eligibility: An individual age 6 and older who has a diagnosis of a developmental disability and does not have a diagnosis of intellectual disability.

Services that may be provided (depending on specific waiver):

  • Employment and Day Services
  • Self-Directed Options
  • Residential Supports
  • Crisis Support Options
  • Medical and Behavioral Options
  • Assistive Technology
  • Electronic Home-Based Services
  • Environmental Modifications
  • Individual and Family/Caregiver Training
  • Transition Services

There are seven supports needs levels for adults determined by Supports Intensity Scale and Supplemental Questions and four reimbursement tiers. A number of services (group home, sponsored residential, supported living, independent living supports, group day, community engagement, and group supported employment) will be reimbursed according to these tiers. This process provides greater reimbursement for smaller settings and for supporting individuals with more intensive needs.

While there is still a waiting list for waiver services, waiver lists are now combined and your waiver slot is prioritized based on need. Individuals with disabilities who are in need of services or may need them in the future are encouraged to apply for a Medicaid Waiver as soon as possible.

To locate the Clinic closest to you and view the screening form, visit the Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) website.

Fax: 804-225-3390
Office phone: 804-663-7290
Website URL: https://www.dbhds.virginia.gov/developmental-services/my-life-my-community-waiver" target="_blank">https://www.dbhds.virginia.gov/developmental-services/my-life-my-community-waiver
Contact Name: DBHDS
Additional: State Resources
Tags/Notes: Medicaid waivers, funding resources, government funding, state resources